The unsung stars are often owner-operated companies whose specialisation gives them a clear focus. And they come up with some resourceful ways of defending their lead through consistently investing in research and development – a field in which Saxony is easily one step ahead; a key factor behind the success of many Saxon products. Further important factors contributing to the “hidden champions’” success include the state’s business-friendly policies and good education system.

Saxony’s world market leaders are quick off the blocks

Saxony’s hidden champions: their innovative entrepreneurship and flexible reactions to constant change in their sector means these front runners do not depend on their brand being a household name. 

Focus, the key to success

Many of them dominate the entire global market in their sector – but though they have the upper hand in niche markets, the “hidden champions” are relatively unfamiliar. However, they are what really drives the German economy. Several are based in the east of the country. With 29 world market leaders, Saxony has almost as many global players as all the other four eastern states put together.

Today, researchers define “hidden champions” as companies that are among the top three players in their market segment worldwide and No. 1 on their continent, bringing in a turnover of up to 5 billion euros. In Saxony, they are found in a variety of sectors, from traditional makers of musical instruments to construction material manufacturers or IT providers. A small selection includes:

FEP Fahrzeugelektrik Pirna GmbH Co. KG 
An important European manufacturer of switch components, connectors and plastic parts for the automotive industry, FEP also steps in to solve tough problems with lasting future effects. The company is resolutely following its goals of global expansion and strengthening its market leadership.

Read

ZABAG Security Engineering GmbH
This finalist in the 2019 Mittelstand awards ceremony does global business in security systems. ZABAG’s systems for gates, turnstiles and barriers protect sensitive areas all over the world, from embassies and airports to prisons and well-known companies’ production facilities.

Read

Norafin Industries (Germany) GmbH
Norafin has established itself in the market as a supplier of high-quality special-purpose nonwoven fabrics. The company, based in the Ore Mountains, produces technical textiles for the protective clothing industry, filter manufacturers and users of composite materials, and offers skilled workers from all over the world a new home.

Read

C. A. Seydel Söhne GmbH
Harmonicas for the 21st century – their stainless-steel reeds, the only ones of their kind, produce a modern-feeling sound and are valued by musicians all over the world.

Read

Freiberger Compound Materials GmbH 
The Saxon town of Freiberg is home to a leading global producer of compound semiconductor substrates. The company has a strong ethical stance, placing great value on the environment and social responsibility.

Read

Kirow Ardelt GmbH Leipzig 
Located in Leipzig, Kirow Ardelt GmbH is a mechanical engineering company that occupies the top spot in railway cranes worldwide. Kranunion cranes can be found at sites around the globe.

Read

CommSolid Dresden
This Mobile IP company CommSolid is the leading manufacturer of ultra-low-power solutions. The team of engineers, doctorate holders and creative minds are among the few people around the globe to successfully handle the communicational challenges of the IoT market.

Read

Wälzlagertechnik GmbH 
The key to this Dresden company’s success lies in its specialisation in developing bespoke, premium and individual solutions for highly demanding fields of application. It delivers to Germany, Austria, Switzerland and various other European countries.

Read

Start-ups and new business ventures move ahead

As well as traditional companies and SMEs, start-ups and new business models are also gaining ground in Saxony. Young companies such as Spreadshirt or Wandelbots are also taking the whole world by storm. They, too, benefit from the state’s optimal conditions: the high concentration of research institutions and Saxony’s innovative spirit combine to make the state a breeding ground for new ideas.

Many companies are already reaping the fruits of success, but it doesn’t stop there: the Saxon hothouse for hidden champions is still expanding. If the state continues its success story, the 29 local companies identified as world market leaders will soon be growing in number. 

One thing is certain: Saxony will be doing everything in its power to nurture that future trend.

Photo credits: Central Saxony district, Wandelbots

Die heimlichen Gewinner sind oft inhabergeführte Unternehmen, die sich durch Spezialisierung einen klaren Fokus gegeben haben. Und diese Führungsposition verteidigen sie ziemlich clever durch konsequente Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung – in diesem Gebiet hat Sachsen klar die Nase vorn, was ausschlaggebend für den Erfolg vieler sächsischer Produkte ist. Zusätzlich sind die wirtschaftsfreundliche Politik und das gute Ausbildungssystem im Freistaat wichtige Rahmenbedingungen für den Erfolg der Hidden Champions.

Sachsens Weltmarktführer starten durch

Hidden Champions in Sachsen – ihr innovatives Unternehmertum und die Fähigkeit flexibel auf die ständigen Veränderungen der Branche zu reagieren, macht sie zu Vorreitern, die nicht auf die allgemeine Bekanntheit ihrer Marke angewiesen sind. 

Fokus als Erfolgsfaktor

Sie dominieren häufig den gesamten Weltmarkt ihrer Branche und dennoch sind die "Hidden Champions" trotz Spitzenposition in Nischenmärkten der breiten Öffentlichkeit eher unbekannt. Dabei sind genau sie die Motoren der deutschen Wirtschaft. Auch im Osten der Republik gibt es davon einige. Sachsen hat mit 29 Weltmarktführenden fast so viele Global Player wie die anderen vier neuen Bundesländer zusammen.

Als „Hidden Champions“ definiert die Wissenschaft heute Unternehmen, die in ihrem Marktsegment weltweit zu den Top 3 gehören, die Nr. 1 auf einem Kontinent darstellen und einen Umsatz von höchstens 5 Mrd. Euro erwirtschaften. In Sachsen sind das ganz unterschiedliche Branchen, vom traditionellen Musikinstrumentenbau über Baustoffe bis hin zu IT-Lösungen findet sich alles im Freistaat. Eine kleine Auswahl sind unter anderem:

FEP Fahrzeugelektrik Pirna GmbH Co. KG 
Als bedeutender europäischer Hersteller von Schaltelementen, Steckverbindungen und Kunststoffteilen für die Automobilindustrie steht FEP auch für Lösung schwieriger und weit in die Zukunft reichender Problemstellungen zur Verfügung und verfolgt weltweite Expansion und den Ausbau der Marktführerschaft konsequent.

Lesen

ZABAG Security Engineering GmbH
Der Finalist beim Mittelstandspreis 2019 agiert weltweit mit Sicherheitsanlagen. Tor-, Drehkreuz- und Schrankenanlagen von ZABAG sichern sensible Bereiche in der ganzen Welt – z. B. Botschaften, Flughäfen, Justizvollzugsanstalten und Produktionsstätten namhafter Unternehmen. 

Lesen

Norafin Industries (Germany) GmbH
Norafin hat sich als Anbieter von hochwertigen Spezialvliesstoffen im Markt etablieren können. Das im Erzgebirge ansässige Unternehmen beliefert mit seinen technischen Textilien die Schutzbekleidungsindustrie, Filterhersteller oder Anwender von Verbundstoffen und bietet Fachkräften aus aller Welt eine neue Heimat.

Lesen

C. A. Seydel Söhne GmbH
Mundharmonikas für das 21. Jahrhundert – die weltweit einzigartigen Edelstahl-Zungen sorgen für ein modernes Klanggefühl und sind bei Musikern auf der ganzen Welt geschätzt. 

Lesen

Freiberger Compound Materials GmbH 
Im sächsischen Freiberg angesiedelt, findet sich ein global führender Produzent von Verbindungshalbleitersubstraten. Dabei ist das Unternehmen bewusst unterwegs und legt Wert auf Umwelt und soziale Verantwortung. 

Lesen

Kirow Ardelt GmbH Leipzig 
Das Maschinenbauunternehmen Kirow Ardelt GmbH markiert am Standort Leipzig im Bereich der Eisenbahnkrane die globale Spitze. Die Kräne der Kranunion stehen an vielen Standorten auf der ganzen Welt.

Lesen

CommSolid Dresden
Der Mobilfunk-IP-Betrieb CommSolid ist führender Hersteller für Ultra-Low-Power-Lösungen. Das Team besteht aus Ingenieuren, Doktoren und kreative Köpfen und gehört zu einigen der wenigen weltweit, die die kommunikativen Herausforderungen des IoT-Marktes bewältigen können. 

Lesen

Wälzlagertechnik GmbH 
Die Spezialisierung auf die Entwicklung von Sonder-, Premium- und Individuallösungen für Anwendungsgebiete mit hohem Anspruch ist der Schlüssel zum Erfolg des Dresdner Unternehmens. Es beliefert neben Österreich und der Schweiz diverse Länder im europäischen Ausland. 

Lesen

Start-Ups und junge Unternehmen ziehen nach vorn

Neben Traditionsfirmen, klein- und mittelständischen Unternehmen im Freistaat ziehen auch Start-Ups und neue Businessmodelle nach. Junge Firmen wie Spreadshirt oder Wandelbots sind ebenfalls auf Siegeszug in die ganze Welt. Auch bei ihnen tragen die optimalen Bedingungen im Freistaat Früchte: Die hohe Dichte an Forschungseinrichtungen und der Innovationsgeist im Land bündeln die Kräfte für neue Ideen.

Schon jetzt sind viele Firmen erfolgreich und noch nicht satt: Sachsen als Biotop für Hidden Champions wächst. Wenn Sachsen weiter auf Erfolgskurs bleibt, werden die 29 identifizierten Weltmarktführende im Freistaat bald Zuwachs bekommen. 

Eins ist sicher: Der Freistaat wird alles dafür tun, um diesen Zukunftstrend Sachsens weiter voranzutreiben. 

Bildnachweis: Landkreis Mittelsachsen, Wandelbots