Saxony is extremely well established as a thriving business location. The success story began in the 18th century and continues to this day: since 1990, more than 6,000 companies have either set up business in the state or acquired a local enterprise. Since the year 2000, the Saxon economy has grown by over 30 per cent, giving Saxony the highest GDP growth rate of any federal state in the country.

“The key success factors that made us choose Leipzig as a location were the airport’s location near the growth markets in Eastern Europe, the reliable long-term planning thanks to the comprehensive night flight permit, the pool of highly motivated, well-trained workers, and the infrastructure with its progressive combination of transport modes: air, road and rail. 
To operate our hub, we need plenty of people to get down to work with us. Career changers are just as welcome here as qualified specialists – DHL has a wide variety of jobs to choose from, and every single one offers interesting prospects in an international environment.”

Philippe Bauer
HR Director at DHL Hub Leipzig GmbH

Global Player in Sachsen

In fact, the infrastructure is a particularly crucial factor when it comes to global business: that and Saxony’s good geographical location make it the ideal logistics location for Europe-wide distribution. The state is in the centre of Europe, and the regions around Leipzig are some of Germany’s most dynamic logistics locations. 

Global companies in Saxony

At the heart of Europe – there are plenty of good reasons for global companies to select Saxony as a location. Many of those reasons have already been brought up on our platform: not just the broad mix of industries, the high level of innovation and the people behind it, or the region’s spirit of scientific enquiry, but also the good work-life balance and property and rental prices – the cost of living in Saxony is among the lowest in Europe. These come hand in hand with unrivalled funding schemes for investment projects. 

The international companies operating on Saxon soil include well-known giants such as Volkswagen, BMW and Porsche: it’s no coincidence that the state is known as “Autoland Sachsen”. But “car country” is not Saxony’s only nickname: as the home to Europe’s largest microelectronics location, it is also known as “Silicon Saxony”. Half of all microchips produced in Europe are made in Saxony. 

Export

Photo credits: DHL HUB Leipzig, Görlitz district

VNG AG 
Energy in the region: VNG is a corporate association operating throughout Europe, comprising more than 20 companies and a broad, future-proof portfolio of services in the fields of gas and infrastructure. Its more than 1,200 staff make the energy group one of the region’s most important employers.

Read

Amazon 
Amazon Distribution GmbH chose Leipzig as the site for its logistics centre and has been shipping goods all over the world from its 75,000 square metres of warehousing since 2006. Since 2019, Lampertswalde in the district of Meissen has also had a small, but significant distribution centre.

Read

SAP 
A cloud company, SAP leads the market in business software and operates all over the world: more than 140 countries use its application solutions. Dresden is one of the sites shaping the future of technology.

Read

T-Systems 
T-Systems International GmbH provides information and communication technology for various industries. This international company is the world’s leading provider of non-proprietary digital services and has its headquarters in Saxony!

Read

GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals 
Having singled out Saxony as a location, this British group produces flu vaccines for some 70 countries including the USA. The site employs roughly 700 staff, and new employees are always sought.

Read

GlobalFoundries
As well as its factory in Dresden, this US company also has three production sites in the USA and one in Singapore. Thanks to its commitment to research and development, GlobalFoundries has helped the state of Saxony carve out a position as Europe’s leading microelectronics and nanoelectronics centre.

Read

Infineon 
Innovative semiconductors can also be found at Infineon, in the north of Dresden. Founded in 1994, the Dresden site is one of the largest and most modern locations for manufacturing, technology and product development, now with more than 2,700 employees. 

Read

BOSCH 
The new BOSCH plant in Dresden brings another microelectronics flagship to the state capital. Some 700 workers will be taking on the task of producing high-quality semiconductor chips there. The mass production of automotive electronics is set to begin in 2021. 

Read

DHL 
DHL Hub Leipzig GmbH operates the DHL logistics centre at Leipzig/Halle Airport as one of three global aviation hubs. Every day sees more than 6,000 employees shift 150,000 packages an hour on the terminal’s 87,000 square metres. The global hub has roughly 23,600 flight movements per year.

Read

Sachsen ist als starker Wirtschaftsstandort mehr als etabliert. Die Erfolgsgeschichte beginnt schon im 18. Jahrhundert und hält bis heute an: Seit 1990 haben sich über 6.000 Unternehmen in Sachsen neu angesiedelt oder ein hiesiges Unternehmen erworben. Seit 2000 hat die Wirtschaft in Sachsen um über 30 Prozent zugelegt. Konkret hat Sachsen damit eine der höchsten BIP-Wachstumsraten aller Bundesländer.

"Für uns waren entscheidende Erfolgskriterien für die Standortwahl Leipzig die Lage des Flughafens mit Nähe zu den Wachstumsmärkten im Osten Europas, die langfristige Planungssicherheit durch eine umfassende Nachtflugerlaubnis, das Potential an motivierten und gut ausgebildeten Arbeitskräften sowie eine Infrastruktur, die eine zukunftsorientierte Kombination der Verkehrsträger Luft, Straße und Schiene ermöglicht. 
Für den Betrieb unseres Drehkreuzes brauchen wir viele Menschen, die mit anpacken. Quereinsteiger sind bei uns genauso willkommen wie qualifizierte Spezialisten – die Vielfalt der Jobs bei DHL ist groß und jeder dieser Jobs bietet interessante Perspektiven in einem internationalen Umfeld."

Philippe Bauer
Arbeitsdirektor bei DHL Hub Leipzig GmbH

Global Player in Sachsen

Aber gerade für weltweite Wirtschaftsaktivitäten ist der Faktor der Infrastruktur besonders entscheidend: In Kombination mit Sachsens guter geografischer Lage der optimale Logistik-Standort für europaweite Distribution. Sachsen liegt in der Mitte Europas, und die Regionen um Leipzig zählen zu Deutschlands dynamischsten Logistik-Standorten. 

Globale Unternehmen in Sachsen

Das Herz Europas – es gibt viele gute Gründe für globale Unternehmen, sich für Sachsen als Standort zu entscheiden. Viele von ihnen waren bereits Thema auch auf unserer Plattform – die Branchenvielfalt, die Innovationskraft und die Menschen dahinter, den Forscherdrang der Region, aber auch gute Work-Life-Balance und Immobilien- und Mietpreise sind ein Grund – die Lebenshaltungskosten in Sachsen zählen zu den günstigsten Europas. Hinzu kommen Förderinstrumente für Investitionsvorhaben, die ihresgleichen suchen. 

Zu den international agierende Unternehmen auf sächsischem Boden gehören namhafte Größen wie  Volkswagen, BMW und Porsche – das Autoland Sachsen trägt seinen Namen nicht von ungefähr. Doch nicht nur als Autoland ist Sachsen bekannt. Als "Silicon Saxony" zeichnet sich Sachsen als Europas größter Mikroelektronik-Standort aus. Jeder zweite in Europa produzierte Chip ist "Made in Saxony". 

Export

Bildnachweis: DHL HUB Leipzig, Landkreis Görlitz

VNG AG 
Energie in der Region: VNG ist ein europaweit aktiver Unternehmensverbund mit über 20 Gesellschaften und einem breiten, zukunftsfähigen Leistungsportfolio in Gas und Infrastruktur. Mit rund 1.200 Mitarbeitenden ist der Energiekonzern einer der wichtigsten Arbeitgebenden der Region.

Lesen

Amazon 
Die Amazon Distribution GmbH hat sich für ein Logistikzentrum in Leipzig entschieden und versendet seit 2006 auf 75.000 Quadratmetern Lagerfläche Handelsgüter in alle Welt. Seit 2019 hat auch Lampertswalde im Landkreis Meißen ein kleines, aber feines Verteilerzentrum.

Lesen

SAP 
Als Cloud-Company ist SAP marktführend für Geschäftssoftware und agiert weltweit – mehr als 140 Länder nutzen die Anwendungslösungen. Auch am Standort Dresden wird technologische Zukunft gemacht.

Lesen

T-Systems 
Die T-Systems International GmbH bietet Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie für diverse Branchen an. Das international agierende Unternehmen ist weltweit führender herstellerübergreifender Digitaldienstleister mit Hauptsitz in: Sachsen!

Lesen

GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals 
Der britische Konzern hat einen sächsischen Standort gewählt. Hier werden Grippeimpfstoffe für circa 70 Länder, unter anderem für die USA, hergestellt. Rund 700 Mitarbeitende gibt es am Standort – und es werden immer neue gesucht.

Lesen

Globalfoundries
Das US-Amerikanische Unternehmen hat neben dem Werk in Dresden noch drei Produktionsstandorte in den USA und einen in Singapur. Globalfoundries hat durch Engagement in Forschung und Entwicklung dazu beigetragen, den Freistaat Sachsen als führendes Mikro- und Nanoelektronikzentrum in Europa zu etablieren.

Lesen

Infineon 
Innovative Halbleiter gibt es auch bei Infineon im Dresdner Norden. Der Standort Dresden existiert seit 1994 und ist einer der modernsten und größten Standorte für Fertigung, Technologie- und Produktentwicklung – und beschäftigt inzwischen mehr als 2.700 Mitarbeiter. 
 

Lesen

BOSCH 
Mit dem neuen BOSCH-Werk in Dresden zieht ein neuer Leuchtturm der Mikroelektronik in die Landeshauptstadt ein. Zukünftig kümmern sich dort rund 700 Chipwerker um die Produktion hochwertiger Halbleiter-Chips. Die Massenfertigung von Automobil-Elektronik beginnt 2021. 
 

Lesen

DHL 
Die DHL Hub Leipzig GmbH betreibt das Logistikzentrum DHL am Flughafen Leipzig/Halle. Es ist eines von weltweit drei Luftfahrt-Drehkreuzen. Auf 87.000 Quadratmeter Terminalfläche bewegen sich 150.000 Pakete pro Stunde und mehr als 6.000 Mitarbeiter täglich. Das Global Hub verzeichnet rund 23.600 Flugbewegungen pro Jahr.
 

Lesen